Healthy Banana Waffles

 

When I was meal prepping for other people I stumbled upon this quick and simple recipe for making banana waffles. The whole idea of eating healthy is not to limit yourself and get on a strict diet but to have balanced meals. Becoming super strict can and will make you go crazy and cause you to fail at staying on track. The amount of days that I prep for is determined by the amount of free time that I won’t have to cook. If I were to have more free time throughout the week I would meal prep less but I am constantly on the go and need something quick to just throw in the microwave and eat. Some people might just need to prep breakfast while other people need all 3 main meals of the day to stay on track. Planning is key!

waffle2

So with these waffles you will need:

  • 1 Banana, ripe
  • 1 Egg and 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup Applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1 tbsp Stevia (I used agave instead)
  • 1 tbsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 cup Flour, white
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups Whole wheat flour, white
  • 1 3/4 cup Skim milk

waffle

Instructions

  1. Preheat your waffle iron and coat with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium size bowl, mash banana. Add eggs, milk, applesauce and vanilla extract and whisk together until combined. In a large bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, stevia(I used agave instead of stevia)  and salt. Beat egg mixture in with the flour mixture until only a few lumps remain.
  3. Carefully spoon the batter onto the pre-heated waffle iron and cook until golden brown. Repeat until batter is finished.

This recipe comes from skinnymom.com, I stumbled upon it through pinterest. I used a basic waffle iron that I got from Walmart for like $10 that cooked 4 at a time. I don’t make the waffles on a weekly basis but it is definitely something to add to your meal plan to keep your sugar cravings under control!

 

bacon

I fell in LOVE with this bacon that I found at Sam’s Club. It has been the best turkey bacon that actually isn’t paper thin and only 90 calories for 2 slices!! $10 for a whole pack if I remember correctly. Swap your regular pork bacon out for this great tasting turkey bacon I promise you won’t miss it plus it’s healthier!!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. soulpaletteblog says:

    Oh my! I’m new to clean eating (you can read my story on my blog) so things like this being a smile to my face!

    Xoxo
    Caylie

    https://soulpaletteblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. journeydiva says:

    That’s great! What if I use all wheat flour instead of the white flour? Can’t wait to try making this, I just made banana muffins with oats so I have enough bananas remaining. Thanks for sharing! I’m also trying out clean eating for my wedding, u can check out my blog! http://Www.journeydiva.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thats actually what i substituted the white flour four And they still came out great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment